Our stores are still open, see our trading hours here
FREE SHIPPING FOR WEB ORDERS OVER $99.
WISHLISTS
Our stores are still open, see our trading hours here

Ancestral Shadows

Hardback|Sep 2004
Product Rating: 0

$42.99

Widely regarded as the founder of the modern conservative movement, Russell Kirk was a noted man of letters whose prodigious literary career included a syndicated newspaper column and a regular page in "National Review." This volume demonstrates another compelling side...


Unavailable
Out of Print

Free Shipping
for orders over $99.

You may also like

eBook
Of Man and Animals eBook
$27.71
$27.71
in stock
Stories I Love to Tell Paperback
$19.99
$19.99
in stock
Best in Plass: Stories, Songs, Poems, and Sketches Paperback
$17.99
$17.99
in stock
eBook
Seasons (#02 in Bryson City Series) eBook
$12.99
$12.99
in stock
eBook
Secrets (#03 in Bryson City Series) eBook
$12.99
$12.99
in stock
eBook
Tales (#01 in Bryson City Series) eBook
$12.99
$12.99
in stock
eBook
Lori Wick Short Stories (Vol. 1) eBook
$2.39
$2.39
in stock
eBook
Lori Wick Short Stories (Vol. 2) eBook
$2.39
$2.39
in stock
eBook
Lori Wick Short Stories (Vol. 3) eBook
$2.39
$2.39
in stock
eBook
Lori Wick Short Stories (Vol. 4) eBook
$2.39
$2.39
in stock

Widely regarded as the founder of the modern conservative movement, Russell Kirk was a noted man of letters whose prodigious literary career included a syndicated newspaper column and a regular page in "National Review." This volume demonstrates another compelling side of Kirk -- the imaginative author who could communicate his powerful vision through even the most dramatic of genres, the ghost story.^"Ancestral Shadows" gathers together nineteen of Kirkbs best ghostly tales from periodicals and anthologies published throughout his life. Penned in the tradition of writers like Defoe, Stevenson, Hawthorne, Coleridge, James, and Poe, these frightful stories conjurer the creeks and shadows of the very places where they came to life: haunted St. Andrews, the Isle of Eigg, Kellie Castle, Balcarres House, Durie House (which has the most persistent of all country-house specters), and Kirkbs own ancestral spooky house in Mecosta, Michigan.^The volume also includes an important concluding
-Publisher

Foreword by Vigen Guroian Widely regarded as the founder of the modern conservative movement, Russell Kirk was a noted man of letters whose prodigious literary career included a syndicated newspaper column and a regular page in National Review. This volume demonstrates another compelling side of Kirk the imaginative author who could communicate his powerful vision through the dramatic genre of the ghost story. Ancestral Shadows collects nineteen of Kirk's best ghostly tales from periodicals and anthologies published throughout his life. In the tradition of Defoe, Stevenson, Hawthorne, Coleridge, Poe, and other master writers, these frightful stories conjure the creaks and shadows of the very places where they came to life through Kirk's pen: haunted St. Andrews, the Isle of Eigg, Kellie Castle, Balcarres House, Durie House ("which has the most persistent of all country-house specters"), and Kirk's own ancestral spooky house in Mecosta, Michigan. The volume ends with "A Cautionary Note on the Ghostly Tale," an incisive piece in which Kirk reflects on why he writes such stories." All important literature has some ethical end," Kirk says, "and the tale of the preternatural as written by George Macdonald, C. S. Lewis, Charles Williams, and other masters can be an instrument for the recovery of moral order." Masterfully crafted, Kirk's Ancestral Shadows will enthrall and delight all lovers of ghost stories.
-Publisher

PRODUCT DETAIL
  • Catalogue Code 216968
  • Product Code 080283938X
  • EAN 9780802839381
  • Pages 424
  • Department General Books
  • Category Fiction
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Eerdmans
  • Publication Date Sep 2004
  • Dimensions 240 x 161 x 29mm
  • Weight 0.754kg

Russell Kirk

Russell Kirk (1918-94) was an independent man of letters whose best-known book is The Conservative Mind: From Burke to Eliot. Several of his other books, including The American Cause, The Roots of American Order, The Politics of Prudence, Redeeming the Time, and The Sword of Imagination, are available from ISI Books. ý New introduction by Benjamin G. Lockerd Jr. ý Lockerd is a professor in the Department of English Language and Literature at Grand Valley State University. He is a former president of the T. S. Eliot Society and is currently on the society's board of directors. His books i

Bestsellers in Fiction

Australian Author
Grace in Strange Disguise (#01 in Grace Series) Paperback
$26.99
$26.99
in stock
Hinds' Feet on High Places Mass Market
Hinds' Feet on High Places
Mass Market
(5)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$13.99
$13.99
in stock
The Land Beneath Us (#03 in Sunrise At Normandy Series) Paperback
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
Unyielding Hope (#01 in When Hope Calls Series) Paperback
$27.99
$27.99
in stock
A Lineage of Grace (Special Edition) Hardback
$32.99
$32.99
in stock
An Extra Mile: A Story of Embracing God's Call (#04 in Sensible Shoes Series) Paperback
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
Daughter of Rome Paperback
Daughter of Rome
Paperback
(3)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$20.79
$25.99
$20.79
$25.99
in stock
Bridge to Haven Paperback
Bridge to Haven
Paperback
(5)Rated 4 stars out of 5
$23.99
$23.99
in stock