Stores are open (exc. Blackburn), see our trading hours
FREE SHIPPING FOR WEB ORDERS OVER $99.
WISHLISTS
Stores are open (exc. Blackburn), see our trading hours

God

Hardback|May 2004
Product Rating: 0

$65.00

British praise forGod "Deeply felt and genuine . . .Waugh's biography is a search for love---and strangely, the god he leaves us with, however impossible, remains attractive." ---Jeanette Winterson,The Times "Immensely entertaining, and a sovereign remedy against the absurdities and...


Order now to secure your copy when our stock arrives.
0 Available. Expected to ship in 4 to 5 weeks from Australia.

Expected to ship in 4 to 5 weeks from Australia.

Free Shipping
for orders over $99.

You may also like

A History of Western Philosophy and Theology Hardback
$79.99
$79.99
in stock
A Philosophy of the Christian Religion: An Introduction Paperback
$69.99
$69.99
in stock
The Trinity and the Entangled World Paperback
$55.00
$55.00
in stock
Theology's Epistemological Dilemma Paperback
$65.00
$65.00
in stock
Logic Paperback
Logic
Paperback
No rating
$55.00
$55.00
in stock
Understanding Jacques Ellul Paperback
$65.00
$65.00
in stock

British praise forGod "Deeply felt and genuine . . .Waugh's biography is a search for love---and strangely, the god he leaves us with, however impossible, remains attractive." ---Jeanette Winterson,The Times "Immensely entertaining, and a sovereign remedy against the absurdities and dangers of religious belief . . . clever and perceptive." ---Literary Review "Waugh has produced a monumental jeu d'eacute;sprit, a testimony to human ingenuity and imagination, a cornucopia of bizarre musings on a perennial theme." ---Financial Times "Peculiar and delightful . . . I loved it." ---Mail on Sunday "A tremendously funny book with a serious purpose." ---Scotland on Sunday "Ten out of ten for the title. And ten out of ten for the idea, the approach, the style, the writing---above all the writing---and the sublime audacity of it all." ---Michael Brown,Yorkshire Post "Waugh's scholarship is extremely impressive." ---New Humanist "I feel enriched---though not in a manner that would please the parish priest---for having accompanied Waugh on his irreverent quest." ---Belfast Telegraph "An exhilarating train ride. As an atheist I was much heartened by this book." ---The Spectator "If God has a sense of humor then I suspect that Waugh's reward will be in heaven." ---Rabbi Charles Middleburgh,Jewish Review "We desperately need to be challenged to think clearly about the ways we believe in God and this book certainly does that." ---Rev. Harvey Richardson,Methodist Recorder "Alexander Waugh deserves an accolade." ---Oxford Times "This book makes mincemeat of theism . . . it should be compulsory reading for all schools and colleges." ---A. C. Grayling,Literary Review "[Waugh's] sardonic, urbane tone is in the tradition of Gibbon or Hume... very funny... wherever you stand - or think you do - on the God question, this is a good read." --The Independent
-Publisher


This is a book about God.

Not just any god, but the god that created Adam and Eve; the god of Abraham, the god of the Jews; the god of the Christians; and the god of Islam---without a doubt, the most influential figure in the history of human civilization. But what do we really know about him? Who is he? Where did he come from? What does he look like? What sort of character does he have? What, if anything, does he eat? Does he have a family? In what ways can he be said to even exist at all?

Alexander Waugh has been asking questions like these for as long as he can remember. Now, having drawn from an enormous range of sources, from the sacred books of the Torah, the Christian New Testament, and the Islamic Qur'an, from the Greek Apocrypha and the ancient texts of Nag Hammadi to the Dead Sea Scrolls, he has sought out the answers. Using material gleaned from the diverse writings of saints, rabbis, historians, prophets, atheists, poets, and mystics, he has molded his findings into a singular, striking biographical portrait of God.

Erudite, perceptive, and entertaining, God reveals many startling and unexpected characteristics of the divine being. From the simple stories of Genesis and Job, explored from God's own viewpoint, to the prophecies of Muhammad and Sybil and the intricate philosophies of Newton and Nietzsche, Alexander Waugh has left no stone unturned in his compulsive mission to create a fascinating and complex portrait of God, as humans have claimed to understand him.


-Publisher

PRODUCT DETAIL
  • Catalogue Code 212369
  • Product Code 0312329059
  • EAN 9780312329051
  • Pages 342
  • Department Academic
  • Category Philosophy
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Thomas Dunne Books
  • Publication Date May 2004
  • Dimensions 216 x 146 x 25mm
  • Weight 0.522kg

Bestsellers in Philosophy

How to Read a Book Paperback
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
Philosophy: A Christian Introduction Paperback
$34.99
$34.99
in stock
How Reason Can Lead to God: A Philosopher's Bridge to Faith Paperback
$29.99
$29.99
in stock
God, Freedom and Evil Paperback
God, Freedom and Evil
Paperback
(1)Rated 4 stars out of 5
$25.99
$25.99
in stock
Escape From Reason Paperback
$14.99
$14.99
in stock