All stores are open, see our trading hours
FREE SHIPPING FOR WEB ORDERS OVER $99
WISHLISTS
All stores are open, see our trading hours

I Told Me So

Paperback|Jun 2009
Product Rating: 0

$26.99

Think you've ever deceived yourself? Then this book is for you. ^^Think you've never deceived yourself? Then this book is really for you. ^^Scripture is peppered with talk of self-deception and its poisonous effects on the pursuit of holy...


Out of Stock
Available to Order

Expected to ship in 4 to 5 weeks from Australia.

Free Shipping
for orders over $99.

You May Also Like

New ArrivaleBook
The Masquerade eBook
$14.71
$14.71
in stock
New ArrivaleBook
Let the World See You eBook
$16.99
$16.99
in stock
New ArrivaleBook
Self the Hidden Idol eBook
$6.99
$6.99
in stock
You Are What You Do: And Six Other Lies About Work, Life, and Love Paperback
$23.19
$28.99
$23.19
$28.99
in stock
New ArrivaleBook
You Are What You Do eBook
$10.04
$10.04
in stock
Notes From Underground Paperback
$26.39
$32.99
$26.39
$32.99
in stock
Taking Your Soul to Work Paperback
$44.00
$55.00
$44.00
$55.00
in stock
The Character of Virtue: Letters to a Godson Hardback
$30.39
$37.99
$30.39
$37.99
in stock

Think you've ever deceived yourself? Then this book is for you.
^^Think you've never deceived yourself? Then this book is really for you.


^^Scripture is peppered with talk of self-deception and its poisonous effects on the pursuit of holy living. Christians in the past thought long and hard about the ways we deceive ourselves. They called on self-deception to explain a wide range of problems in Christian experience. Strangely, though, self-deception has all but disappeared from our consciousness today. We rarely admit to the possibility of deceiving ourselves in any area of our lives.


^^In I Told Me So Gregg Ten Elshof reintroduces readers to self-deception and offers an explanation for its recent neglect in Christian thought. He describes conditions that tempt us to deceive ourselves and points out where they exist in contemporary Christian life. He explains the most successful strategies we use in self-deception and offers practical advice on how to confront and eliminate them. But readers will be surprised to discover that self-deception isn't always such a bad thing. Ten Elshof shows how sometimes it can even be a useful, God-given gift.


^^Honest and incisive, consistently wise and frequently funny,I Told Me So offers fresh insights on how we deceive ourselves and smart strategies to combat the deceiver in all of us.


-Publisher

Think youve ever deceived yourself? Then this book is for you. / Think youve never deceived yourself? Then this book is really for you. / Socrates famously asserted that the unexamined life is not worth living. But Gregg Ten Elshof shows us that we make all sorts of little deals with ourselves every day in order to stave off examination and remain happily self-deceived. Most provocatively, he suggests this is not all bad! While naming its temptations, Ten Elshof also offers a strange celebration of self-deception as a gracious gift. In the tradition of Dallas Willard, I Told Me So is a wonderful example of philosophy serving spiritual discipline. A marvelous, accessible and, above all, wise book. James K. A. Smith / Calvin College / author of The Devil Reads Derrida / In this wise, well-crafted work Ten Elshof helps us to identify, evaluate, and respond to our own self-deceptive strategies, as he probes with occasional self-deprecation and unavoidable humor the bottomless mysteries of the human heart. His reflections on interpersonal self-deception and groupthink are especially helpful. To tell me the truth, Im glad I read this book. You will be too I promise. David Naugle / Dallas Baptist University / author of Reordered Love, Reordered Lives / Ten Elshofs discussions are erudite, biblical, searching, and laced with soul-restoring wisdom. All of this together means that this book is solidly pastoral. What it brings to us is appropriate to individuals, but it especially belongs in the context of small groups and local congregations. Dallas Willard (from the foreword)
-Publisher

PRODUCT DETAIL
  • Catalogue Code 288411
  • Product Code 9780802864116
  • ISBN 0802864112
  • EAN 9780802864116
  • Pages 160
  • Department General Books
  • Category Christian Living
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Eerdmans
  • Publication Date Jun 2009
  • Sales Rank 6511
  • Dimensions 215 x 139 x 10mm
  • Weight 0.198kg

Gregg A Ten Elshof

Gregg A. Ten Elshof (Ph.D., University of Southern California) is associate professor and department chair of philosophy at Biola University. He is also the author of Introspection Vindicated: Defense of a perceptual / observational model of introspection (Ashgate, 2005) and I Told Me So: The Role of Self-Deception in Christian Living (Eerdmans, 2009).
Koorong - Editorial Review.

Bestsellers in Christian Living

Rhythms of Renewal: Trading Stress and Anxiety For a Life of Peace and Purpose Paperback
$21.59
$26.99
$21.59
$26.99
in stock
Bestseller
What on Earth Am I Here For? (The Purpose Driven Life Series) Paperback
$18.39
$22.99
$18.39
$22.99
in stock
Everybody, Always: Becoming Love in a World Full of Setbacks and Difficult People Paperback
$15.99
$19.99
$15.99
$19.99
in stock
The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith Paperback
$15.99
$19.99
$15.99
$19.99
in stock
Boundaries: When to Say Yes, How to Say No to Take Control of Your Life Paperback
$18.39
$22.99
$18.39
$22.99
in stock
Get Your Life Back: Everyday Practices For a World Gone Mad Paperback
$21.59
$26.99
$21.59
$26.99
in stock
It's Not Supposed to Be This Way: Finding Unexpected Strength When Disappointments Leave You Shattered Paperback
$18.39
$22.99
$18.39
$22.99
in stock
New Arrival
You Are Never Alone: Trust in the Miracle of God's Presence and Power Paperback
$21.59
$26.99
$21.59
$26.99
in stock
Australian Author
Christ-Centred Mindfulness: Connected to Self and God Paperback
$8.00
$10.00
$8.00
$10.00
in stock