FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS OVER $99.
WISHLISTS

Passion For Peace

Paperback|Oct 2006
Product Rating: 0

$36.99

This comprehensive volume contains Thomas Merton's principal writings on non-violence, war, and racism. Much of what he wrote between 1961 and 1968 is prophetic and speaks penetratingly to our time. Wars and rumors of war are still with us. Justice...


Order now to secure your copy when our stock arrives.
0 Available. Expected to ship in 5 to 6 weeks from Australia.

Expected to ship in 5 to 6 weeks from Australia.

Free Shipping
for orders over $99.

You may also like

The Seven Storey Mountain Paperback
$27.99
$34.99
$27.99
$34.99
in stock
Spiritual Direction & Meditation Paperback
Spiritual Direction & Meditation
Paperback
(1)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$15.99
$19.99
$15.99
$19.99
in stock
Rrc: The Imitation of Christ Hardback
$14.39
$17.99
$14.39
$17.99
in stock
eBook
The Imitation of Christ eBook
$16.04
$16.04
in stock
eBook
Spiritual Guide Which Disentangles the Soul eBook
$3.23
$3.23
in stock
eBook
The Imitation of Christ eBook
$17.07
$17.07
in stock
eBook
A Little Book of Eternal Wisdom eBook
$3.23
$3.23
in stock
eBook
Holy War eBook
$1.61
$1.61
in stock
War on the Saints Paperback
$16.79
$20.99
$16.79
$20.99
in stock

This comprehensive volume contains Thomas Merton's principal writings on non-violence, war, and racism. Much of what he wrote between 1961 and 1968 is prophetic and speaks penetratingly to our time. Wars and rumors of war are still with us. Justice and love remain a dream. In most of these articles, it's as if Merton is actually writing in the 1990s. He is speaking to us - reminding us of the essential oneness that roots the equal dignity of all peoples. Merton's writings on social issues flowed from a deep contemplative vision. Editor William Shannon puts each essay in context and reveals how this vision developed. We see a side of Merton's character that does not come through in his other books: his passion for peace and the ardor with which he pleaded for it in a world where people so desperately yearn for it. Passion for Peace is a book of testament, vision, and hope.
-Publisher

Violence, war, and terrorism fill our televisions, newspapers, and websites. To meet the great need for nonviolent wisdom in the tradition of Martin Luther King Jr. and Mahatma Gandhi, Crossroad presents this new and reedited version of Thomas Merton's "Passion for Peace," The book, never before available in an attractive trade edition, presents Merton's most important insights into themes such as the nature of violence, armed conflict, Christian responsibility, and the individual in the state.
-Publisher

PRODUCT DETAIL

Thomas Merton

Born in France, Thomas Merton was the son of an American artist and poet and her New Zealander husband, a painter. Merton lost both parents before he had finished high school, and his younger brother was killed in World War II. Something of the ephemeral character of human endeavor marked all his works, deepening the pathos of his writings and drawing him close to Eastern, especially Buddhist, forms of monasticism. After an initial education in the United States, France, and England, he entered Gethsemani Abbey in Kentucky, where he remained until a short time before his death.
His working life was spent as a Trappist monk. At Gethsemani, he wrote his famous autobiography, The Seven Storey Mountain (1948); there he labored and prayed through the days and years of a constant regimen that began with daily prayer at 2:00 a.m. As his contemplative life developed, he still maintained contact with the outside world, his many books and articles increasing steadily as the years went by. Reading them, it is hard to think of him as only a "guilty bystander," to use the title of one of his many collections of essays. He was vehement in his opposition to the Vietnam War, to the nuclear arms race, to racial oppression. Having received permission to leave his monastery, he went on a journey to confer with mystics of the Hindu and Buddhist traditions. He was accidentally electrocuted in a hotel in Bangkok, Thailand, on December 10, 1968.

Bestsellers in Classic

The Everlasting Man Paperback
The Everlasting Man
Paperback
(2)Rated 4 stars out of 5
$15.99
$19.99
$15.99
$19.99
in stock
Overcoming Sin and Temptation (Redesign) Paperback
$24.79
$30.99
$24.79
$30.99
in stock
A Little Book on the Christian Life (Leaves) Paperback
$8.79
$10.99
$8.79
$10.99
in stock
Dietrich Bonhoeffer's Meditation on Psalms Paperback
$17.59
$21.99
$17.59
$21.99
in stock
Thought For Young Men: An Exortation Directed to Those in the Prime of Life Paperback
$10.39
$12.99
$10.39
$12.99
in stock
The Practice of the Presence of God Mass Market
$7.99
$9.99
$7.99
$9.99
in stock
Lessons From a Sheepdog: A True Story of Transforming Love Hardback
$10.39
$12.99
$10.39
$12.99
in stock
Hudson Taylor's Spiritual Secret (Moody Classic Series) Paperback
$11.19
$13.99
$11.19
$13.99
in stock
The Cost of Discipleship Paperback
The Cost of Discipleship
Paperback
(2)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$31.99
$39.99
$31.99
$39.99
in stock
The Imitation of Christ (Moody Classic Series) Paperback
$11.19
$13.99
$11.19
$13.99
in stock