All stores are open, see our trading hours
FREE SHIPPING FOR AUSTRALIAN WEB ORDERS OVER $99
WISHLISTS
All stores are open, see our trading hours
New Arrival

Passion For Peace

Paperback|Oct 2006
Product Rating: 0

$35.99

This comprehensive volume contains Thomas Merton's principal writings on non-violence, war, and racism. Much of what he wrote between 1961 and 1968 is prophetic and speaks penetratingly to our time. Wars and rumors of war are still with us. Justice...


Out of Stock
Available to Order

Expected to ship in 4 to 5 weeks from Australia.

Free Shipping
for orders over $99.

You May Also Like

eBook
Inner Experience eBook
$17.99
$17.99
in stock
Spiritual Direction & Meditation Paperback
Spiritual Direction & Meditation
Paperback
(1)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$22.99
$22.99
in stock
eBook
The Imitation of Christ eBook
$14.18
$14.18
in stock

This comprehensive volume contains Thomas Merton's principal writings on non-violence, war, and racism. Much of what he wrote between 1961 and 1968 is prophetic and speaks penetratingly to our time. Wars and rumors of war are still with us. Justice and love remain a dream. In most of these articles, it's as if Merton is actually writing in the 1990s. He is speaking to us - reminding us of the essential oneness that roots the equal dignity of all peoples. Merton's writings on social issues flowed from a deep contemplative vision. Editor William Shannon puts each essay in context and reveals how this vision developed. We see a side of Merton's character that does not come through in his other books: his passion for peace and the ardor with which he pleaded for it in a world where people so desperately yearn for it. Passion for Peace is a book of testament, vision, and hope.
-Publisher

Violence, war, and terrorism fill our televisions, newspapers, and websites. To meet the great need for nonviolent wisdom in the tradition of Martin Luther King Jr. and Mahatma Gandhi, Crossroad presents this new and reedited version of Thomas Merton's "Passion for Peace," The book, never before available in an attractive trade edition, presents Merton's most important insights into themes such as the nature of violence, armed conflict, Christian responsibility, and the individual in the state.
-Publisher

PRODUCT DETAIL
  • Catalogue Code 257316
  • Product Code 0824524152
  • EAN 9780824524159
  • Pages 174
  • Department Academic
  • Category Classic
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Crossroad Publishing Company
  • Publication Date Oct 2006
  • Sales Rank 18414
  • Dimensions 189 x 132 x 11mm
  • Weight 0.206kg

Thomas Merton

Born in France, Thomas Merton was the son of an American artist and poet and her New Zealander husband, a painter. Merton lost both parents before he had finished high school, and his younger brother was killed in World War II. Something of the ephemeral character of human endeavor marked all his works, deepening the pathos of his writings and drawing him close to Eastern, especially Buddhist, forms of monasticism. After an initial education in the United States, France, and England, he entered Gethsemani Abbey in Kentucky, where he remained until a short time before his death.
His working life was spent as a Trappist monk. At Gethsemani, he wrote his famous autobiography, The Seven Storey Mountain (1948); there he labored and prayed through the days and years of a constant regimen that began with daily prayer at 2:00 a.m. As his contemplative life developed, he still maintained contact with the outside world, his many books and articles increasing steadily as the years went by. Reading them, it is hard to think of him as only a "guilty bystander," to use the title of one of his many collections of essays. He was vehement in his opposition to the Vietnam War, to the nuclear arms race, to racial oppression. Having received permission to leave his monastery, he went on a journey to confer with mystics of the Hindu and Buddhist traditions. He was accidentally electrocuted in a hotel in Bangkok, Thailand, on December 10, 1968.

Bestsellers in Classic

A Call to Prayer Booklet
A Call to Prayer
Booklet
No rating
$4.99
$4.99
in stock
The Practice of the Presence of God (Hodder Classic Series) Paperback
$19.99
$19.99
in stock
The Practice of the Presence of God Mass Market
$7.99
$9.99
$7.99
$9.99
in stock
The Cost of Discipleship Paperback
The Cost of Discipleship
Paperback
(3)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$31.99
$39.99
$31.99
$39.99
in stock
Holiness Paperback
Holiness
Paperback
(1)Rated 4 stars out of 5
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
Lessons From a Sheepdog: A True Story of Transforming Love Hardback
$11.99
$14.99
$11.99
$14.99
in stock
Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment (Puritan Paperbacks Series) Paperback
$17.99
$17.99
in stock
The Glory of Christ (Christian Heritage Series) Paperback
$20.99
$20.99
in stock
Orthodoxy (Moody Classic Series) Paperback
$14.99
$14.99
in stock
Life Together Paperback
Life Together
Paperback
(5)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$27.99
$27.99
in stock