FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS OVER $99.






JOIN NOW
WISHLISTS

The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher

Paperback|May 2008
Product Rating: 0

$20.99

Meet Ryan Fisher. He's young, energetic, and needs an edge in the real estate market. He's found the perfect niche: Christians. His business doubles when he advertises in the Christian business directory, and he begins to think he could really...


Available in other Formats
eAudio Book - $24.99
eBook - $11.99

Available while stock lasts. Out of Print.
1 Available

Expected to ship within 4 hours from Australia.

Free Shipping
for orders over $99.

You may also like

eBook
The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher eBook
$11.99
$11.99
in stock
eBook
Homemade Hunting eBook
$11.99
$11.99
in stock
eAudio Book
The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher eAudio
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
eBook
The End is Now eBook
$11.99
$11.99
in stock
Almost Home Paperback
$20.99
$20.99
in stock
Shades of Blue Paperback
Shades of Blue
Paperback
(3)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$23.99
$23.99
in stock
Leaving (#01 in Bailey Flanigan Series) Paperback
$22.99
$22.99
in stock
Longing (#03 in Bailey Flanigan Series) Paperback
$22.99
$22.99
in stock
Loving (#04 in Bailey Flanigan Series) Paperback
$22.99
$22.99
in stock
The Mountain Midwife Paperback
$22.99
$22.99
in stock

Meet Ryan Fisher. He's young, energetic, and needs an edge in the real estate market. He's found the perfect niche: Christians. His business doubles when he advertises in the Christian business directory, and he begins to think he could really cash in by planting a church. But when the church takes off, Ryan is in over his head.




"Screenwriter Stennett offers a satirical look at a non-Christian's ascent to pastor of a megachurch in this engaging, highly readable novel. Ryan Fisher is a 28-year-old real estate agent who doesn't believe in God, but lists himself in the Christian Business Directory (along with a Jesus fish symbol) to beef up sales. He and his wife, Katherine, attend church to validate his new religious image, where he sees the possibilities of utilizing business principles to create his own megachurch. They move to Bartlesville, Oklahoma, and create "The People's Church" where Ryan preaches a feel-good, do-good gospel ("I'm not encumbered by things like the Bible and Jesus"). As church numbers swell, Oprah calls, local pastors are on the warpath, a religious fanatic plots Ryan's assassination, and Katherine is smitten with Cowboy Jack, a karaoke singer-turned-worship leader who pens Christian lyrics to popular radio tunes. Is Ryan in over his head? Interesting narration and Dave Barryesque footnotes make this humorous entertainment with a faith-based message."

s Weekly, June 2008

-Publisher

Meet Ryan Fisher---a self-assured real estate agent who's looking for an edge in the market. While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. It's like they're begging for affordable but classy starter homes. Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete with a Jesus fish. His business doubles in a week. But after visiting an actual church, Ryan realizes that with his business savvy, he could not only plant a church---he could create an empire. The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher is a hilarious, spot-on, and often heartbreaking satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Perrotta, and Douglas Adams.
-Publisher

PRODUCT DETAIL
  • Catalogue Code 269693
  • Product Code 9780310277064
  • ISBN 031027706X
  • EAN 9780310277064
  • Pages 352
  • Department General Books
  • Category Fiction
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Zondervan
  • Publication Date May 2008
  • Dimensions 213 x 139 x 25mm
  • Weight 0.399kg

Rob Stennett

Rob Stennett is the author of The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher, and The End is Now, an award-winning screenwriter, a produced playwright Fisher, an award-winning screenwriter, a produced playwright, and a film and theater director. He lives in Colorado.

Bestsellers in Fiction

Until the Mountains Fall (#03 in Cities Of Refuge Series) Paperback
$21.99
$21.99
in stock
The Tinderbox Paperback
The Tinderbox
Paperback
(1)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$22.99
$22.99
in stock
eBook
Tidings of Peace eBook
$7.78
$7.78
in stock
Becoming Mrs. Lewis: The Improbable Love Story of Joy Davidman and C. S. Lewis Paperback
$22.99
$22.99
in stock
Redeeming Love Paperback
Redeeming Love
Paperback
(26)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$19.99
$19.99
in stock
New Arrival
Shades of Light Paperback
Shades of Light
Paperback
(1)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$26.99
$26.99
in stock
An Extra Mile: A Story of Embracing God's Call (#04 in Sensible Shoes Series) Paperback
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
5in1: A Lineage of Grace Paperback
5in1: A Lineage of Grace
Paperback
(19)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
Keepers of the Covenant (#02 in The Restoration Chronicles Series) Paperback
$21.99
$21.99
in stock