Stores are open (exc. Blackburn), see our trading hours
FREE SHIPPING FOR WEB ORDERS OVER $99.
WISHLISTS
Stores are open (exc. Blackburn), see our trading hours

The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher

Paperback|May 2008
Product Rating: 0

$22.99

Meet Ryan Fisher. He's young, energetic, and needs an edge in the real estate market. He's found the perfect niche: Christians. His business doubles when he advertises in the Christian business directory, and he begins to think he could really...


Available in other Formats
eBook - $11.99

Unavailable
Out of Print

Free Shipping
for orders over $99.

You may also like

eBook
The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher eBook
$11.99
$11.99
in stock
eBook
Homemade Hunting eBook
$11.99
$11.99
in stock
eBook
The End is Now eBook
$11.99
$11.99
in stock
Almost Home Paperback
$20.99
$20.99
in stock
The Shoe Box: A Christmas Story (25th Anniversary Edition) Hardback
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
Oceans Apart Paperback
Oceans Apart
Paperback
(2)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$21.99
$21.99
in stock
One Tuesday Morning/Beyond Tuesday Morning (9/11 Series) Paperback
$22.99
$22.99
in stock
Shades of Blue Paperback
Shades of Blue
Paperback
(3)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$23.99
$23.99
in stock
Longing (#03 in Bailey Flanigan Series) Paperback
$22.99
$22.99
in stock
Loving (#04 in Bailey Flanigan Series) Paperback
$22.99
$22.99
in stock

Meet Ryan Fisher. He's young, energetic, and needs an edge in the real estate market. He's found the perfect niche: Christians. His business doubles when he advertises in the Christian business directory, and he begins to think he could really cash in by planting a church. But when the church takes off, Ryan is in over his head.




"Screenwriter Stennett offers a satirical look at a non-Christian's ascent to pastor of a megachurch in this engaging, highly readable novel. Ryan Fisher is a 28-year-old real estate agent who doesn't believe in God, but lists himself in the Christian Business Directory (along with a Jesus fish symbol) to beef up sales. He and his wife, Katherine, attend church to validate his new religious image, where he sees the possibilities of utilizing business principles to create his own megachurch. They move to Bartlesville, Oklahoma, and create "The People's Church" where Ryan preaches a feel-good, do-good gospel ("I'm not encumbered by things like the Bible and Jesus"). As church numbers swell, Oprah calls, local pastors are on the warpath, a religious fanatic plots Ryan's assassination, and Katherine is smitten with Cowboy Jack, a karaoke singer-turned-worship leader who pens Christian lyrics to popular radio tunes. Is Ryan in over his head? Interesting narration and Dave Barryesque footnotes make this humorous entertainment with a faith-based message."

s Weekly, June 2008

-Publisher

Meet Ryan Fisher---a self-assured real estate agent who's looking for an edge in the market. While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. It's like they're begging for affordable but classy starter homes. Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete with a Jesus fish. His business doubles in a week. But after visiting an actual church, Ryan realizes that with his business savvy, he could not only plant a church---he could create an empire. The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher is a hilarious, spot-on, and often heartbreaking satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Perrotta, and Douglas Adams.
-Publisher

PRODUCT DETAIL
  • Catalogue Code 269693
  • Product Code 9780310277064
  • ISBN 031027706X
  • EAN 9780310277064
  • Pages 352
  • Department General Books
  • Category Fiction
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Zondervan
  • Publication Date May 2008
  • Sales Rank 47651
  • Dimensions 213 x 139 x 25mm
  • Weight 0.399kg

Rob Stennett

Rob Stennett is the author of The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher, and The End is Now, an award-winning screenwriter, a produced playwright Fisher, an award-winning screenwriter, a produced playwright, and a film and theater director. He lives in Colorado.

Bestsellers in Fiction

The Scarlet Thread Paperback
The Scarlet Thread
Paperback
(9)Rated 4 stars out of 5
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
5in1: Sons of Encouragement Paperback
5in1: Sons of Encouragement
Paperback
(4)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
If I Were You: A Novel Paperback
If I Were You: A Novel
Paperback
(1)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$24.99
$24.99
in stock
Her Mother's Hope (#01 in Marta's Legacy Series) Paperback
$29.99
$29.99
in stock
Unyielding Hope (#01 in When Hope Calls Series) Paperback
$27.99
$27.99
in stock
Return to Me (#01 in The Restoration Chronicles Series) Paperback
$22.99
$22.99
in stock
Hinds' Feet on High Places Mass Market
Hinds' Feet on High Places
Mass Market
(5)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$13.99
$13.99
in stock
eBook
War Room eBook
War Room
eBook
(2)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$16.56
$16.56
in stock
Thief of Corinth Paperback
Thief of Corinth
Paperback
(3)Rated 5 stars out of 5
$21.99
$21.99
in stock
Mark of the Lion Gift Collection (Mark Of The Lion Series) Paperback
$54.99
$54.99
in stock