Back to Top
Our Stores Contact Us Help
Welcome, {{username}} Log Out Log In   /  Sign Up

A Little Book For New Theologians

Kelly Kapic
A Little Book For New Theologians
sneak Peek

A Little Book For New Theologians

Kelly Kapic

$14.99

Paperback
Also Available In
Whenever we read, think, hear or say anything about God, we are doing theology. Yet theology isn't just a matter of what we think. It affects who we are. In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke's A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology for newcomers to the field. He highlights the value and importance of theological study and explains its unique nature as a serious discipline. Not only concerned with content and method, Kapic explores the skills, attitudes and spiritual practices needed by those who take up the discipline. This brief, clear and lively primer draws out the relevance of theology for Christian life, worship, mission, witness and more. "Theology is about life," writes Kapic. "It is not a conversation our souls can afford to avoid."

- Publisher
Also Available In

You May Also Be Interested In

About "A Little Book For New Theologians"

Whenever we read, think, hear or say anything about God, we are doing theology. Yet theology isn't just a matter of what we think. It affects who we are. In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke's A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology for newcomers to the field. He highlights the value and importance of theological study and explains its unique nature as a serious discipline. Not only concerned with content and method, Kapic explores the skills, attitudes and spiritual practices needed by those who take up the discipline. This brief, clear and lively primer draws out the relevance of theology for Christian life, worship, mission, witness and more. "Theology is about life," writes Kapic. "It is not a conversation our souls can afford to avoid."
- Publisher

Meet the Author

Kelly Kapic

Kelly M. Kapic (Ph.D., (Systematic and Historical Theology), King's College, University of London, London, UK) is Professor of Theological Studies at Covenant College in Lookout Mountain, Georgia.

He is the author of The Devoted Life: An Invitation to the Puritan Classics (IVP: Downers Grove, 2004, and IVP: UK, Nottingham) edited with Randall Gleason; Overcoming Sin and Temptation: Three Classic Works by John Owen (Wheaton: Crossway Books, 2006) edited with Justin Taylor; Communion with God: The Divine and the Human in John Owen's Theology (Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2007); Communion with the Triune God: A Classic work by John Owen (Wheaton: Crossway Books, 2007); God So Loved He Gave: Entering the Movement of Divine Generosity (Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2010) with Justin Borger.

Forthcoming publications include with M. Kapic and Bruce McCormack, ed., Mapping Modern Theology: A Thematic History of Recent Theological Reflection (Grand Rapids, Baker Academic, 2011); with Randal Rauser, Everyday Saints: Voices From the Past: 100-1500 AD (Grand Rapids, Zondervan); Everyday Saints: Voices From the Past: 1500-Today (Grand Rapids, Zondervan).
Koorong -Editorial Review.

Table Of Contents

  • Acknowledgments
  • Part I: Why Study Theology
  • 1. Entering The Conversation
  • 2. To Know And Enjoy God: Becoming Wise
  • 3. Theology As Pilgrimage
  • Part Ii: Characteristics Of Faithful Theologians And Theology
  • 4. The Inseparability Of Life And Theology
  • 5. Faithful Reason
  • 6. Prayer And Study
  • 7. Humility And Repentance
  • 8. Suffering, Justice, And Knowing God
  • 9. Tradition And Community
  • 10. Loving Scripture

Customer Reviews For "A Little Book For New Theologians"

Write Your Own Review
Essential Reading For Both Seminarians and Lay Christians
5 stars By Dr. Bernard Low, Feb 11 2016
In this little book, Kelly M. Kapic, Professor of Theological Studies at Covenant College argues that whenever we think, hear, read or say anything about God, we are doing theology. Kelly rightly asserts that every Christian must care about theology as theological reflection is a way of examining our praise, prayers, words and worship to ensure that they conform to God alone. Theology, rightly done, touches our understanding and affections and leads us to a right knowledge, enjoyment and worship of God. For those engaging in theology, Kelly also helpfully enumerates and expounds certain characteristics of faithful theology and theologians. These include the following: true theology leads to true spirituality; it engages reason in the service of faith; it requires prayerful study Coram Deo; it humbles us before God and results in repentance when we change our minds after discovering our ideas of God have been less than biblical; it reflects God's compassion and care for our neighbors and those in need; it respects the Christian tradition and supports the proclamation of the Word and the life of the church; and, it is characterized by a love for and dependence on the holy texts. For the lay Christian or seminarian setting out to study theology, Kelly's book is a must read. Highly recommended!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes or No
{{review.title}}
{{review.rating}} stars By {{review.author.name}}, {{review.reviewCreatedDate | date:'MMM dd yyyy'}}

{{reviewdescription}}

{{review.text}}
{{review.helpfulCount}} of {{review.helpfulCount + review.unhelpfulCount}} people found this review helpful.  Did you find this review helpful? Yes or No

Order now to secure your copy when our stock arrives.

0 Available. Expected to ship November 2018.
Quantity

Add to Wishlist

Product Details

Product Details
  • Catalogue Code 352049
  • Product Code 9780830839759
  • ISBN 0830839755
  • EAN 9780830839759
  • Pages 126
  • Department Academic
  • Category Theology
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Intervarsity Press Usa
  • Publication Date Sep 2012
  • Sales Rank #59060
  • Dimensions 177 x 107 x 10 mm
  • Weight 0.113kg

Bestsellers in Theology