Back to Top
Our Stores Contact Us Help
Welcome, {{username}} Log Out Log In   /  Sign Up

Gilead

Marilynne Robinson

Gilead

Marilynne Robinson

$37.99

Paperback
Twenty-four years after her first novel, "Housekeeping," Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" ("Slate"). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. "Gilead "is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

- Publisher

You May Also Be Interested In

About "Gilead"

Twenty-four years after her first novel, "Housekeeping," Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" ("Slate"). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. "Gilead "is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.
- Publisher

Meet the Author

Marilynne Robinson

MARILYNNE ROBINSON is the author of the novels Housekeeping; Gilead, winner of the Pulitzer Prize; and Home, and of three books of non-fiction, Mother Country, The Death of Adam and Absence of Mind. She teaches at the Iowa Writers' Workshop. For more information, visit her Facebook page.

Customer Reviews For "Gilead"

Write Your Own Review
Wonderful!
5 stars By Adam, Dec 09 2014
I'll admit, it took me a few pages to warm to the memoir-style and the seemingly random collection of memories and stories. But the beautifully measured prose and moments of profundity and beauty drew me in. Though 'Gilead' is undoubtedly contemplative, it manages to never seem self-indulgent, revealing, rather, the beauty that is to be found in the ordinariness and simplicity of life, if one is willing to look. I'll have to read this again. Wonderful.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes or No

Masterful Prose
5 stars By Paolo Arimado, Jul 05 2014
Writing so precise, one is left trembling at the beauty of it. Rich and deep; a classic for the generations. 
Did you find this review helpful? Yes or No
{{review.title}}
{{review.rating}} stars By {{review.author.name}}, {{review.reviewCreatedDate | date:'MMM dd yyyy'}}

{{reviewdescription}}

{{review.text}}
{{review.helpfulCount}} of {{review.helpfulCount + review.unhelpfulCount}} people found this review helpful.  Did you find this review helpful? Yes or No

Available Now.

1 Available
Quantity

Add to Wishlist

WHY WAIT!

Expected to ship tomorrow from Australia.

Delivery / Shipping Info

Product Details

Product Details
  • Catalogue Code 371971
  • Product Code 9780312424404
  • ISBN 031242440X
  • EAN 9780312424404
  • Pages 247
  • Department General Books
  • Category Fiction
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Picador
  • Publication Date Jan 2006
  • Sales Rank #47174
  • Dimensions 207 x 142 x 16 mm
  • Weight 0.234kg

Bestsellers in Fiction