Back to Top
Our Stores Contact Us Help
Welcome, {{username}} Log Out Log In   /  Sign Up

Living Water

Obery Hendricks

Living Water

Obery Hendricks

$36.99

Paperback
Sprung from the pages of The New Testament, "Living Water" is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a young women's search for identity set against the strict social confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel brings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible - the woman at the well. ^ In a village torn apart by senseless violence, a young girl struggles to mute her passion for life to survive the harsh social restrictions of her people. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, she soon becomes a woman unrecognisable from the little girl she once was. After her fifth husband is found bloody and beaten, she emerges amid the scandal and accusations to try and reclaim her life. In the tradition of "Their Eyes Are Watching God, The Color Purple" and "Paradise," Obery Hendricks uses both fine detail and broad strokes to crisply depict this period of early history. And in doing so, this sophisticated literary debut delivers a universal tale of

- Publisher In the Bible she is a fleeting but haunting presence, the iconic "woman at the well" who encounters Jesus. Inspired by this tantalizing biblical scene, Obery Hendricks's Living Water spins the complete story of her life in rich, gripping detail. From a childhood torn between love and violence through a tumultuous coming-of-age,she struggles to mute her passion for life in a society that wants to break her spirit. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, cast out and despised, she is a woman who has lost her own voice -- until a chance meeting with a remarkable stranger from Galilee whose words reawaken her thirst for life and love.

- Publisher

You May Also Be Interested In

About "Living Water"

Sprung from the pages of The New Testament, "Living Water" is a gripping and lyrical portrayal of a young women's search for identity set against the strict social confines of the time. This extraordinary first novel brings to life one of the most mysterious and intriguing characters in the Bible - the woman at the well. ^ In a village torn apart by senseless violence, a young girl struggles to mute her passion for life to survive the harsh social restrictions of her people. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, she soon becomes a woman unrecognisable from the little girl she once was. After her fifth husband is found bloody and beaten, she emerges amid the scandal and accusations to try and reclaim her life. In the tradition of "Their Eyes Are Watching God, The Color Purple" and "Paradise," Obery Hendricks uses both fine detail and broad strokes to crisply depict this period of early history. And in doing so, this sophisticated literary debut delivers a universal tale of
- Publisher

In the Bible she is a fleeting but haunting presence, the iconic "woman at the well" who encounters Jesus. Inspired by this tantalizing biblical scene, Obery Hendricks's Living Water spins the complete story of her life in rich, gripping detail. From a childhood torn between love and violence through a tumultuous coming-of-age,she struggles to mute her passion for life in a society that wants to break her spirit. Catapulted into a series of abusive marriages, cast out and despised, she is a woman who has lost her own voice -- until a chance meeting with a remarkable stranger from Galilee whose words reawaken her thirst for life and love.
- Publisher

Meet the Author

Obery Hendricks

Obery M. Hendricks, Jr. is one of today's most provocative and innovative commentators on the intersection of religion, politics and social policy. A former Wall St. investment executive and past president of Payne Theological Seminary (the oldest African American theology seminary in the U.S.) he is currently Professor of Biblical Interpretation at NY Theological Seminary and Visiting Scholar in Religion and African American Studies at Columbia. His books include The Politics of Jesus (Doubleday), and a novel, Living Water (HarperCollins).

Order now to secure your copy when our stock arrives.

0 Available. Expected to ship in 6 to 7 weeks from Australia.
Quantity

Add to Wishlist

Product Details

Product Details
  • Catalogue Code 208233
  • Product Code 0060000880
  • EAN 9780060000882
  • Pages 384
  • Department General Books
  • Category Fiction
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Harperone
  • Publication Date Mar 2004
  • Dimensions 145 x 197 x 23 mm
  • Weight 0.292kg

Bestsellers in Fiction