Back to Top
Our Stores Contact Us Help
Welcome, {{username}} Log Out Log In   /  Sign Up

Philosophy of Literature

New ChristopherChristopher Law

Philosophy of Literature

New ChristopherChristopher Law

$51.99

Paperback
9780415144865

- Publisher Literature, like the visual arts, poses its own philosophical problems. While literary theorists have discussed the nature of literature intensively, analytic philosophers have usually dealt with literary problems either within the general framework of aesthetics or else in a way that is accessible only to a philosophical audience. The present book is unique in that it introduces the philosophy of literature from an analytic perspective accessible to both students of literature and students of philosophy. Specifically, the book addresses: the definition of literature, the distinction between oral and written literature and the identity of literary works^the nature of fiction and our emotional involvement with fictional characters^the concept of imagination and its role in the apprehension of literary works^theories of metaphor and postmodernist theory on the significance of the authors' intentions to the interpretationof their work^an examination of the relevance of thruth

- Publisher

You May Also Be Interested In

About "Philosophy of Literature"

9780415144865
- Publisher

Literature, like the visual arts, poses its own philosophical problems. While literary theorists have discussed the nature of literature intensively, analytic philosophers have usually dealt with literary problems either within the general framework of aesthetics or else in a way that is accessible only to a philosophical audience. The present book is unique in that it introduces the philosophy of literature from an analytic perspective accessible to both students of literature and students of philosophy. Specifically, the book addresses: the definition of literature, the distinction between oral and written literature and the identity of literary works^the nature of fiction and our emotional involvement with fictional characters^the concept of imagination and its role in the apprehension of literary works^theories of metaphor and postmodernist theory on the significance of the authors' intentions to the interpretationof their work^an examination of the relevance of thruth
- Publisher

Meet the Authors

New Christopher

Christopher New for many years chaired the Department of Philosophy at Hong Kong University. He was born in England, educated at Oxford, and spent nearly thirty years in China.<BR>

Christopher Law

Born with a love of monsters and things that go bump in the night, Christopher Law is the author of the Chaos Tales series and the upcoming Entrance Saga. In the tradition of King, Barker and Lovecraft, his stories are dark and gruesome, often shocking, but rarely trivial. He doesn't recommend his stories for the squeamish or children.

Order now to secure your copy when our stock arrives.

0 Available. Expected to ship in 7 to 8 weeks from Australia.
Quantity

Add to Wishlist

Product Details

Product Details
  • Catalogue Code 163755
  • Product Code 0415144868
  • EAN 9780415144865
  • Pages 160
  • Department Academic
  • Category Philosophy
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Routledge
  • Publication Date Mar 1999
  • Dimensions 234 x 157 x 18 mm
  • Weight 0.249kg

Bestsellers in Philosophy