Back to Top
Our Stores Contact Us Help
Welcome, {{username}} Log Out Log In   /  Sign Up

The Real Enemy (#01 in Sophie Trace Trilogy Series)

eBook
The Real Enemy (#01 in Sophie Trace Trilogy Series)
sneak Peek

The Real Enemy (#01 in Sophie Trace Trilogy Series)

Police Chief Brill Jessup numbs the pain of her husband's infidelity by focusing on work—the mysterious disappearance of local citizens. Heart-pounding suspense and a realistic portrait of a marriage in trouble.

You May Also Be Interested In

About "The Real Enemy (#01 in Sophie Trace Trilogy Series)"

Police Chief Brill Jessup numbs the pain of her husband's infidelity by focusing on work—the mysterious disappearance of local citizens. Heart-pounding suspense and a realistic portrait of a marriage in trouble.
- Koorong

Brill Jessup becomes the first female police chief in Sophie Trace, Tennessee and is riding on the credentials of a stellar eighteen-year-career on the Memphis Police Force. She may be a pro at finding clues, but she ignores the obvious in her personal life. Her husband, Kurt, is weighed down by her unrelenting anger as he struggles to let God redeem the stupidest mistake he ever made. Brill hides behind her badge and her bitterness, deciding that moving her family away from Memphis is the only change she needs to make.

Before she has time to unpack her boxes, people start disappearing. Lots of them. To complicate matters, a local legend has many residents believing that the cause is unearthly-tied to the "red shadows," or spirits of the departed Cherokee who once inhabited the land. While Brill draws on all of her experience and instinct to solve the case, she must confront an enemy that threatens everything she holds dear-one that cannot be stopped with a badge and a gun.


- Publisher

Meet the Author

Kathy Herman

Kathy Herman, bestselling author of The Baxter series, Poor Mrs. Rigsby, and the Seaport Suspense novels, is at home in the Christian book industry. She spent five years on staff at the Christian Booksellers Association and eleven years as a retailer specializing in children's products at Better Books Christian Center in Tyler, Texas . Kathy and her husband, Paul, have three grown children and five grandchildren. They enjoy world travel, deep sea fishing, and bird watching - sometimes incorporating all three into one big adventure!

Customer Reviews For "The Real Enemy (#01 in Sophie Trace Trilogy Series)"

Write Your Own Review
Great Narration and an Interesting Story
4 stars By sarah, May 24 2015
Police Chief Brill has moved to a new town with her family, determined to start afresh amidst trying to come to terms with her husbands infidelity. A take-charge woman, she is caught up with a mysterious series of events threatening the new town she has moved to. What follows is a mixture of mystery and suspense, along with a focus on healing a fractured marriage.
The narration was excellent, and enhanced the story, not detracting from the overall feel of the novel. The male narrator does an admirable job of portraying all the varied characters, both male and female within the novel.
For fans of Colleen Coble and Dee Henderson
Did you find this review helpful? Yes or No
{{review.title}}
{{review.rating}} stars By {{review.author.name}}, {{review.reviewCreatedDate | date:'MMM dd yyyy'}}

{{reviewdescription}}

{{review.text}}
{{review.helpfulCount}} of {{review.helpfulCount + review.unhelpfulCount}} people found this review helpful.  Did you find this review helpful? Yes or No

  • Add To Basket
    Add To Basket
  • Add eBook
    Add eBook
  • Add To Basket
    Add To Basket
  • Add eBook
    Add eBook

Available for immediate download.


Give as a Gift

Add to Wishlist

eBook Help
koorong eReader

Discover how to get the best eBook reading experience on your phone, tablet, PC, Mac, or dedicated eReader.

4.76 MB (EPUB)

Product Details

Product Details
  • Catalogue Code 339130
  • Product Code 9781434702333
  • ISBN 1434702332
  • EAN 9781434702333
  • Department General Books
  • Category Fiction
  • Sub-Category Suspense Mystery
  • Publisher David C Cook
  • Publication Date Mar 2009
  • Sales Rank #69630
  • DRM Adobe
  • Printable No

Bestsellers in Fiction