Back to Top
Our Stores Contact Us Help
Welcome, {{username}} Log Out Log In   /  Sign Up

The Scale of Perfection

W Hilton
The Scale of Perfection

The Scale of Perfection

W Hilton

$16.99

Paperback
This book is an invitation to a life of love and prayer. Walter Hilton was a 14th-century English mystic in the tradition of Roland Rolle and Julian of Norwich. Union with God, in Walter Hilton's eyes, is not achieved in an instant. The transfiguration of the soul is rather the result of perseverance and effort. Hilton sees an unbroken ladder leading upwards from our common human nature to perfect life in God.;The ascent of the soul up the ladder is gradual, conditioned by God's grace and the individual's determination, whatever the hardships experienced. The result is the transformation of the soul from a dark, false image into the beauty of a child of God. The book is adapted for the modern reader.

- Publisher

You May Also Be Interested In

About "The Scale of Perfection"

This book is an invitation to a life of love and prayer. Walter Hilton was a 14th-century English mystic in the tradition of Roland Rolle and Julian of Norwich. Union with God, in Walter Hilton's eyes, is not achieved in an instant. The transfiguration of the soul is rather the result of perseverance and effort. Hilton sees an unbroken ladder leading upwards from our common human nature to perfect life in God.;The ascent of the soul up the ladder is gradual, conditioned by God's grace and the individual's determination, whatever the hardships experienced. The result is the transformation of the soul from a dark, false image into the beauty of a child of God. The book is adapted for the modern reader.
- Publisher

Unavailable. Out of Print. Only available while stock lasts.

Out of Print
Quantity

Product Details

Product Details
  • Catalogue Code 58192
  • Product Code 0340544937
  • EAN 9780340544938
  • Pages 224
  • Department Academic
  • Category Classic
  • Sub-Category General
  • Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
  • Publication Date Nov 1992
  • Dimensions 114 x 178 x 14 mm
  • Weight 0.115kg

Bestsellers in Classic